Board of Trustees

Paulo Abrão, Vice-Chair

Former Executive Secretary, the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights; President, Amnesty Commission

Ruth J. Abram, Member Emerita

Founding Director, Lower East Side Tenement Museum; Founder, Behold! New Lebanon

Alissandra Cummins, Chair

Director, Barbados Museum & Historical Society

 (Waskam) Emelda M. Davis

President, Australian South Sea Islanders (Port Jackson)

Doudou Diène, Former Chair

Former United Nations Independent Expert on the Situation of Human Rights in Côte d’Ivoire

Jean-Louis Luxen, Member Emeritus

Professor Emeritus, Catholic University of Louvain

Bruce Rabb, Secretary

Legal Counsel, International Coalition of Sites of Conscience

W. Richard West, Treasurer

President and Ceo, Autry National Center of The American West

Ambassadors Circle

Distinguished leaders from the fields of heritage, human rights, and international affairs form the Coalition’s Ambassadors Circle to help extend our reach and reputation as a unique tool for promoting democracy and human rights.

Judy Barsalou

Former Ford Foundation Regional Representative for the Middle East and North Africa

Aziza Bennani

Former Permanent Ambassador of Morocco to UNESCO

Susan Berresford

New York Community Trust

Suzette Brooks Masters

Immigrant Integration Expert and Consultant

Lonnie Bunch

Secretary, The Smithsonian Institute

Amareswar Galla, Ph.D.

Executive Director, International Institute for the Inclusive Museum

David Goldfield, Ph.D.

Robert Lee Bailey Professor of History, University of North Carolina

Philip Heylen

Business Development Manager, Ackermans & Van Haaren

Riva Kantowitz

International Development Expert

Emlyn Koster

Geologist and Museologist

Federico Mayor Zaragoza

Chairman, Fundación Cultura de Paz

Leigh Rix

Director, Property and Land, Clinton Devon Estates

Gunnar Stålsett

Bishop Emeritus, Norway

Patricia Tappatá de Valdez

Founding Director, Memoria Abierta